Connect with us

News

Facebook is locking out users who did not activate ‘Protect’ security feature

Published

on

Facebook Protect

Facebook releases its Facebook Protect program in the US in 2018 and later it was expanded widely during the US 2020 presidential elections. The Company designs this program to protect users’ accounts that are at high risk of cyberattacks. Now, Facebook is reportedly locking out the accounts that do not activate Protect program.

Some users complain that the Company is sending spam-like emails to the users. Several users took to Twitter complaining about the spam-like notification.

The Facebook email informs the users that they need to turn on the Facebook Protect Programme by a certain date. Otherwise they will lockout of their account.

According to the Company, It is a security program for a group of people. This is generally becoming the target of malicious hackers such as Journalists,human right defenders and government officials.

What is Facebook Protect?

Facebook Protect, a program designs to protect accounts of users at high risk of being targeted by cybercriminals, is now rolling out to India and other countries. This feature will give higher security to users whose accounts on the network are more at risk of cyberattacks and perhaps even state-sponsored attacks.

The feature when turned on will mandate that these accounts use two-factor authentication (2FA), and offer them other security protections as well.

What happens if someone gets a Facebook Protect prompt, but does not turn it on?

So this is mandatory. If you get the prompt, meaning your account is at high-risk you will have to turn it on. It also means you will have to turn in 2FA for your Facebook account if you have not done so already.

Users will have a deadline to accept the prompt. If you do not accept within that time period, it will lock out your account. For example, if you are a journalist and your Facebook account does not have 2FA, you will have to turn on the feature. If you do not do so, and the deadline elapses, it will lock your account.

Remember, it will not lose any account data, just accessing. According to the company, users can get back account access by turning on 2FA and Facebook Protect.

Thanks for reading!!

Stay Connected for more latest updates

Also read: Call of Duty Mobile announces new Holi-themed free rewards: How to claim

Also read: UPI Lite to Debut in India to Enable Small-Value Transactions in Offline Mode

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © 2020 - 2021 TechZimo.com, All rights reserved.