- Snapchat announces real-time live location sharing feature with friends.
- Users will now be able to share their location instantly with friends.
- There is no option to send real-time location details to all Snapchat friends at once.
Snapchat has announced a new safety feature that will enable users to share their real-time location for 15 minutes or a few hours with friends. The feature is similar to the Find My app on iOS, where users who’ve opted in can see and share the precise locations. The Snapchat setting can enable for 15 minutes or a few hours with individual users and is only available between mutual friends on the app.
In order to lower the risk of stalking or being pressured to constantly share location, users can pause sharing without sending the other party a notification, Snapchat says. The feature is off by default and there is no option to share real-time location with all Snapchat friends.
The company said that it is mandatory for both parties to accept each other as friends on Snapchat before they can start using this feature. When using the feature for the first time, a pop-up will appear reminding them that this tool is meant to be used with close friends and family only. To enable the setting, users navigate to a friend’s profile and select the duration of location sharing. The status of live location sharing is visible within the chat window with that friend.
“Location sharing is for Friends only, there is no option for Snapchatters to share their location with the whole community. Snapchatters are always in complete control over who they share their whereabouts with–for example, they can opt to share with just a small handful of close friends,” the company added.
How to share live location on Snapchat with family and friends:
Sharing a live location with your friends on Snapchat is simple. Follow this step-by-step guide to enable the new update on your app.
Step 1: Open the profile of the friend you want to share your real-time location with.
Step 2: You will see your friend’s profile. Now scroll down and you will find the option, ‘Share my Live Location’.
Step 3: As you will click on the option, you will find a pop-out that will inform you about the new Live Location feature.
Step 4: You can tap on, ‘Sounds Good’ in order to go ahead with the feature.
As we mentioned already, the feature works between friends that too on an individual basis, you will not be able to share your live locations with more than one friend at a time.
Thanks for Reading!!