Connect with us

News

WhatsApp double-verification feature coming soon: What it means, why it is important

Published

on

WhatsApp web

HIGHLIGHTS

  • WhatsApp could soon release a double verification feature.
  • The feature is currently under development.
  • The double verification feature has been spotted on the iOS version of WhatsApp.

Two-step verification is an optional feature that adds more security to your WhatsApp account. You’ll see the two-step verification screen after you successfully register your phone number on WhatsApp. You can learn how to enable two-step verification in the article

When you enable two-step verification, you have the option to enter your email address. This allows WhatsApp to email you a reset link in case you ever forget your PIN and also helps safeguard your account.

To help you remember your PIN,

WhatsApp will prompt you to periodically enter your PIN. Unfortunately, there isn’t an option to disable this without disabling the two-step verification feature. Learn more about managing two-step verification settings in this article.

Note: The two-step verification PIN is different from the 6-digit registration code you receive via SMS or phone call. You can learn more about registration in this article.

The measure can protect your account from unauthorized access, as it provides an additional layer of security.

Once enabled, any attempt to verify your phone number on WhatsApp will require the passcode, the company says.

Users can also choose to enter a recovery email address, but this is optional.

If you ever forget your passcode, a link can be emailed to this address that will allow you to disable the two-step verification in order to access your account. WhatsApp notes that the email address is not verified, so you’ll need to be careful to enter it correctly.

However, the company tries to make sure that users won’t forget their passcode – the app will periodically ask you to re-enter your passcode from time to time, helping you keep it fresh in mind. There’s no option to disable these prompts either if you have two-step enabled.

Additionally, WhatsApp has taken extra steps to keep your account safe, it says. When you have two-step verification enabled, your number will not be permitted to reverify on WhatsApp within 7 days of last using WhatsApp without your passcode, the company notes. After the 7 days have passed, your number will be permitted to reverify on WhatsApp without your passcode, but you will lose all pending messages upon reverifying – they will be deleted.

Meanwhile, if your number is reverified on WhatsApp after 30 days of last using WhatsApp, and without your passcode, your account will be deleted and a new one will be created upon successfully reverifying.

The feature was available to WhatsApp beta testers this November but is now rolling out to all 1.2 billion users. You can choose to switch it on for yourself from Settings –> Account –> Two-step verification –> Enable.

Also Read :

After ExpressVPN, Surfshark is shutting down servers in India over government guidelines

Dogecoin’s next update will be released with many changes, and details leaked

 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © 2020 - 2021 TechZimo.com, All rights reserved.