- Twitter will now let you remove followers without blocking them.
- Now you can remove someone from your follower’s list without blocking them entirely.
- The new feature is the latest attempt by Twitter to give users more control over their experience.
Has it ever happened to you – you get a Twitter notification that says you have a new follower, but you have never even met the person, nor there is a chance you will. Or maybe you want to create a distance between some of your followers. The earlier method to achieve this used to be a very roundabout one, but Twitter has now made it easier. The microblogging platform is now allowing all of its users on the web to ‘soft block’ their followers.
What does it mean and how to do it?
If a blocked user navigates to your profile after you block them, Twitter will tell them that they were blocked. But by removing a follower, users can feel more secure about who sees their tweets without blocking them altogether. A soft block is different from a block because it allows a user to still see your tweets and direct message you, but they won’t see your tweets on your feed.
This new method from Twitter is a little easier than the previous one, which required you to block and unblock someone manually. Twitter also announced a test of a feature that would allow users to swipe on their timeline between two different feeds: one that’s sorted by algorithm, and one that’s chronological.
Twitter started testing the ‘soft block’ functionality last month to allow users more control over their followers’ list. They had started testing the feature also to curb abuse and harassment. Now the feature has been rolled out for everyone on the web version of the social media site.
To ‘soft block’ a follower, you need to go to the Twitter website on a laptop or desktop. Now open the ‘Followers’ list in your profile. Click on three dots in front of the follower and select ‘Remove this follower’. Twitter is also testing a new Safety Mode feature where abusive comments will be automatically blocked for a short period of time. However, there is no word on the timeline for the rollout of this feature yet.
Thanks for Reading!!